Announcement new round and jury Prix de Rome Architecture

The new round of the Prix de Rome Architecture will start at the beginning of next year. The Prix de Rome is the oldest and most prestigious award in the Netherlands for architects under the age of 35. The purpose of the award is to identify talented architects and to encourage them to develop further and increase their visibility.

The Prix de Rome architecture is open to architects, landscape architects and urban planners. Architects are invited to apply themselves or they can be proposed by a wide range of scouts or by a third party. All architects wanting to participate are invited to send in their portfolio and to respond in their own way on a theme formulated by the jury. In the preliminary round the Prix de Rome jury 2018 opts for an open competition with a specific theme corresponding to the experimental character of the award. The theme of this open round and the guidelines for the portfolio will be announced on 22 January 2018 via this website and social media. Architects and urbanists can already check if they satisfy the formal conditions. Official application is possible from January 22.

Formal conditions
All candidates need to satisfy the following requirements:
– should be no older than 35 at the time of the winner’s announcement (October 2018).
– should not be attending an undergraduate or post-graduate study at an academy or Technical University (partipants of a post-academic study like the Academie van Bouwkunst or Berlage Instituut can apply).
– needs to have been working as a professional architect for a minimum of one year at the end of open call (March 5th 2018).
–  substantively active and integrated in the Netherlands’ professional architectural sector.
– in the case of a creative partnership, all members need to satisfy all of the above requirements.

Architects working at an architectural firm are required to work indepently and in a personal capacity on the assignment, without the assistance of the office.

An international panel of judges will select a shortlist of four architects. The selection of the shortlist for architecture will be based on the portfolio and a statement in reaction on the theme of the open competition. In april 2018 the four selected architects will receive an assignment for the final round. They will be provided with a project budget to work for three months on the assignment. During this three months work period, each shortlisted architect can be supported by a coach of his or her choosing. The results will be presented in a group exhibition at Het Nieuwe Instituut. The winner will be announced in October.

This procedure is a change compared to Prix de Rome Architecture 2014 based on an evaluation carried out by Christophe Van Gerrewey.

Jury Prix de Rome 2018
Mels Crouwel (architect/founding partner Benthem Crouwel Architects)
Frank Havermans (founder/artist/designer Studio Frank Havermans)
Afaina de Jong (architect/founder AFARAI)
Oana Rades (owner/architect Shift architecture urbanism)
Ronald Rietveld (architect/founder RAAAF/ winner Prix de Rome 2006)
Peter Cachola Schmal (director Deutsches Architekturmuseum)
Chair Birgit Donker (director Mondriaan Fund)

The Prix de Rome is the oldest and most prestigious award in the Netherlands for visual artists under the age of 40 and architects under the age of 35. Once every four years the award will be organized for Architecture. The Prix de Rome is organised and financed by the Mondriaan Fund. For Prix de Rome 2018 the Mondriaan Fund is advised by Het Nieuwe Instituut and Creative Industries Fund NL.

More information about the conditions and procedure: check here or contact Lisa van Beek via prixderome[at] / tel 020 5231673.