A broad-based group of professionals from various disciplines has been approached to function as so-called scouts and to nominate up to two architects, landscape architects or city planners. Architects, landscape architects or city planners that meet the criteria may also apply themselves, or be proposed to the jury by third parties.

Out of the 23 approached scouts from all disciplines, the organisation received recommendations from the following scouts: Yvonne Franquinet (director of Arcam), Job Floris (architect/co-founder of Monadnock, head of master’s programme at Rotterdam Academy of Architecture), Machiel Spaan (architect/founder of M3h), Jeroen Bergsma (architect/co-founder of Superuse), Ernst van der Hoeven (owner of EVDH studio for urban landscape, co-founder of Mac Guffin), Donna van Milligen Bielke (architect, winner of the 2014 Prix de Rome), Martine Vledder (area developer at SITE urban development, partner of Polylester), Kirsten Hannema (architecture critic and journalist), Tim Prins (owner of Studio Stad, teacher at Maastricht Academy of Architecture) and Nanne de Ru (founding partner of Powerhouse Company).