Announcement jury and prior information new round Prix de Rome 2019

De jury of the Prix de Rome 2019 consists of:

Lonnie van Brummelen (visual artist, winner Prix de Rome 2005)
Amira Gad (artistic director Lehmann Maupin, New York, Hong Kong, Seoul)
Peter Gorschlüter (director Museum Folkwang, Essen)
Frank Koolen (visual artist)
Yasmijn Jarram (curator GEM, The Hague)
Chair is Valentijn Byvanck (director Marres, House of Contemporary Culture, Maastricht)

The new round of the Prix de Rome Visual Arts will start at the 7th of  January 2019. At that moment the guidelines and deadline for submission will be announced, as well as the names of the scouts. Visual artists who meet the formal conditions can apply themselves or they can be proposed by a wide range of scouts or by a third party.

All candidates need to satisfy the following requirements:
– should be no older than 40 at the time of the winner’s announcement (October 2019);
– should not be attending an art school or post-graduate degree programme;
– need to have been working as a professional artist for a minimum of one year at the end of open call;
– substantively active and integrated in the Netherlands’ professional visual arts sector.
In the case of a creative partnership, all members need to satisfy all of the above requirements.